I Just Want A Comfortable and Convenient Christianity – TWC Daily Devotional 20141226

TWC – The Word Connects: Connecting you to God and to one another …
Friday 26 December 2014

i love comfort

“I just want a comfortable and convenient Christianity. I want to dress up nice and go to church on Sundays looking sharp and cool. Meet people who are of the same social class as me, hang out with them and have lots of fun chit-chatting. I want to hear faith-building sermons from my pastor that would keep reminding me of how much God cares about me, loves me, has forgiven me and wants to pour out His richest blessings on me and make me rich and famous. I want to walk out of church feeling good so that I can continue to do what I want everyday to achieve my financial targets and my personal life goals. I just want to be happy and feel blessed. And I will feel that way because God loves me too much and will never allow me to have any pain or suffering. I just love Jesus so much for loving ME!” Well, is that what Christianity is all about? All about ME? Well, many amongst us sing “it’s all about You, Jesus” in church, walk right out afterwards and live a life “all about me!” Yes, Jesus does love us, sacrificially and unconditionally too. He does care about us, every little thing about us matters to Him. He does provide for us and often times, generously too. He wants us to know His peace and He certainly wants us to feel loved all the time. But at the same time, He has also called us to preach the gospel, to be His witnesses, to carry the cross, to live a holy life, to carry each other’s burdens, to give generously to those who are in need, to love our enemies and to do good works. He has also said that we are blessed when we are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, when people revile us and utter all kinds of evil against us. That does not always feel good. But we are blessed when we stick to what is right in the eyes of God. True Christianity is about living for Jesus – to follow Him and to be fishers of men, to fulfill the Great Commission, to teach new believers everything Jesus has commanded us, to know how much we are loved and to respond by loving God so much that we would do anything that would bring joy and glory to Him. A true Christian’s longing is for the Lord to say to us, “Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things, I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your Master’s happiness!” (Mt.25:21) To be good and godly in the way we live, and to be faithful to God’s call for us to serve Him and do the works He has called us to and to be fruitful. As you walk with the Lord today, may you do just that. Have a great day!

Today’s Bible text: His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’  (Mt.25:21)

Pastor Barnabas Chong
Aldersgate Methodist Church
revbarnz@gmail.com

Today’s recommended video: Kingdom of Comfort (Delirious) …   Click here for direct YouTube link

Leave a comment