How Do You Make Decisions? Part II – TWC Daily Devotion 20140714

TWC – The Word Connects: Connecting you to God and to one another … Monday 14 Jul 2014

20140722-091352-33232226.jpg

What if I had spent extended time seeking the Lord and still I am not hearing God speak or impressing His guidance in my heart, what do I do? Whenever I got to this point, I would pray and ask the Lord to give me wisdom to decide what to do. I would re-assess the options and prayerfully, with the wisdom of God in me, I would then make the decision. James tells us in Jas.1:5, “If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.” But do this only after you have spent a significant amount of time seeking the Lord to hear from Him and yet seems to have heard nothing, and the deadline is drawing near. One more thing to note – Isaiah tells us in Isa.30:21, “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it.” I remember my teacher and Acting Principal of Tung Ling Bible School back in 1990 – Dr Neal Paterson quoting this verse in class saying that whichever way we turn, and if that was a wrong move, we will experience a loss of peace in our hearts, and the Holy Spirit will then prompt us saying, “wrong way, go the other way!” Then, as we turn the other way – the right way, the Holy Spirit will restore peace in our hearts to confirm that we are on the right track. I have never forgotten this valuable teaching and have practiced it many times over the years – and on looking back, the Lord has not failed me. So as you walk with God today, stay close to Him, learn to hear His voice and be guided by His wisdom. When you walk closely to the Lord, you will know it when you have done wrong or made the wrong decision. It is only those whose hearts are far from the Lord who can do wrong without feeling guilty or any loss of peace because they already lost God’s peace in the hearts the day they started to stray from God and chose the path of unrighteousness. Don’t be like them. Have a great day!

Today’s Bible text“Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it.'” (Isa.30:21)

Pastor Barnabas Chong
Aldersgate Methodist Church
revbarnz@gmail.com

Today’s recommended video: Lead me Lord …   Click here for YouTube link

Leave a comment