What Kids Want – TWC Daily Devotional 20140421

TWC – The Word Connects: Connecting you to God and to one another …
Monday 21 April 2014

asian-family-120119

In recent times, we hear alot about what women want and there was a movie made of it too with the title, What Women Want. In response to that, magazines started to feature articles on what men want. What about the kids? Do we know what the kids want? Do parents know what kids want? I shall attempt to list five things I believe kids want, not in order of preference.

1. I want to play – so not too much work please, dear Singaporean parents (all work no play makes Jack a dull boy; and all play no work makes Jack a poor boy! – no education, no job, no income)
2. I want to hang out with friends – so please allow a little freedom (but not unrestrained total freedom which will do more harm than good, some parents give kids unrestrained freedom because they want the freedom to do their own things themselves!)
3. I want money – yes, do give them some degree of financial freedom (according to their age) but not too much; too little money may result in feelings of deprivation that could drive kids to do stupid things; while too much money could result in wasteful spending and you might just spoil your kids. They need just the right amount for their age so that they don’t feel left out and awkward when they are with their friends.
4. I want daddy and mummy to stop fighting – kids (including teenagers) feel insecure when parents fight and it affects them emotional and may cause emotional instability; so parents, if you don’t want to damage or jeopardize your children’s emotional well-being, please maintain tolerance, humility, respect and love towards one another.
5. I want daddy and mummy to love me without condition – not love me only when I do well in my studies and behave well in class. When I mess up outside, I want to know that I can come home to loving and understanding parents who will not begin their conversation with me with the words, “I told you ….” or “didn’t I tell you ….”. While I don’t expect them to endorse my wrongdoing, I do hope they will embrace me as their son or daughter.

As you walk with God today, if you are parents, or even if you are not parents, understanding what kids want would help you connect with either your own kids or other kids so that you can bring God’s love and truth to them; and they will then, grow up to love God.

Today’s Bible text: “1 Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. 2 “Honor your father and mother” – which is the first commandment with a promise3 “so that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.” 4 Fathers,do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.” (Eph.6:1-4)

Pastor Barnabas Chong
Aldersgate Methodist Church
revbarnz@gmail.com

Today’s recommended video: World’s Strictest Parents Part 1 ….  Click here for YouTube link

Leave a comment