Truly Amazing Grace – TWC Daily Devotional 20131211

TWC – The Word Connects: Connecting you to God and to one another …
Wednesday 11 December 2013

father-runs-to-the-prodigal-son

When we see biblical text written in prose (recognized by the regular justified alignment typesetting), we know it is when God speaks to us from His mind to our minds. When we see biblical text with centered alignment typesetting, like the Psalms, it is when God speaks from His heart to our hearts. Distinguishing the difference between these two kinds of texts helps us understand the texts better. While prose is usually a straightforward account of what happened, poetry reveals the heart and emotion of God. In Hos.11:1-11, we read words that God spoke from His heart to our hearts. He reveals His heart with great emotion, angry with the Israelites for turning away from Him and turning to useless idols and living an ungodly life. It climaxes at v.7 when He cried out with great frustration, “My people are determined to turn from me. Even though they call me God Most High, I will by no means exalt them.” The Lord had decided at this point to give up on His own people because of their sheer stubbornness and rebellion against Him. But immediately, we read in the next verse, How can I give you up, Ephraim? How can I hand you over, Israel? How can I treat you like Admah? How can I make you like Zeboyim?” There is a sudden change in God’s heart and though He had just pronounced judgment on the Israelites, yet the Lord said, “but how can I give you up??” It’s kind of like a parent of a rebellious teenager saying today, “Okay, I’ve had it with you, if you insist on spending all your time in the pubs drinking and making merry, go ahead, I give up!!” And then turn away only to feel, “But how can I give up on my own child, if I don’t give him a second chance, who will?” In the latter part of v.8, the Lord continues, “My heart is changed within me, all my compassion is aroused.” God really speaking like an earthly father now, expressing the turmoil, conflict and emotion in His heart. Isn’t God’s grace truly amazing? What an amazing God we have? What a fascinating Father we serve? As you begin your walk with God today, do not turn away from Father. He loves you so much and He does not want to see you choosing your own path and getting hurt in the end. Return to the Father and you will find Him running to you the moment you make the slightest turn towards Him. Then, you will truly appreciate His amazing grace! Have a great day!


Today’s Bible text:

7 My people are determined to turn from me.
Even though they call me God Most High,
I will by no means exalt them.
8 “How can I give you up, Ephraim?
How can I hand you over, Israel?
How can I treat you like Admah?
How can I make you like Zeboyim?
My heart is changed within me;
all my compassion is aroused. (Hosea 11:7-8)

Pastor Barnabas Chong
Aldersgate Methodist Church
revbarnz@gmail.com

Today’s recommended video: Amazing Taiwanese voice singing Amazing Grace ….  Click here for YouTube link href=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSDTDqLI_10″

Leave a comment