Made Clean By The Word – TWC Daily Devotional 20130423

TWC – The Word Connects: Connecting you to God and to one another …
Tuesday 23 April 2013

reading-the-word-of-godThe Apostle Paul tells us in Eph.5 that Christ makes us clean by the “washing with water through the word” to present us as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. In other words, the Word of God is able to purify us and make us holy. That should motivate every believer to constantly immerse ourselves in the Word of God, letting God’s truth transform us daily. The psalmist says in Ps.119:9-11 – “How can a young person stay on the path of purity? By living according to your word. I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands. I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” The Word of God kept the psalmist from sinning against God, it kept the psalmist pure and holy. It is no coincidence that most people I met who were struggling with sins were also those who did not immerse themselves in the Word of God, reading it, meditating on it and living it. In fact, many of these departed far from God’s Word and thus, far from God. This is true in my own life too. When God’s Word was not a regular feature in my life, when reading it was a mere obligation and a mechanical routine, my life became increasingly unclean. But when I allow the constant reading of God’s Word to touch my heart and transform my innermost being, whenever I meditate on God’s Word, the Word cleanses me and keeps me pure. The church must always be prudent to guard the primacy of God’s Word. Nothing should take priority over the reading and study of God’s Word. Never let the sharing of opinions, philosophies or even testimonies become more important than the study and sharing of God’s Word. Never let Christian books by famous authors replace the Holy Book written by the Divine Author. Yes, many times these alternatives seem more attractive and interesting, and we may even learn much from them, we should learn from them, but the moment they become a bigger deal than the Bible, when we become more fascinated with them and talk more about them more than we talk about the jewels we discover in God’s Word, we are in trouble of compromising our faith and we may end up basing our faith on men’s words instead of God’s. As you begin your walk with God today, renew your love for God’s Word along with me, and let us read, study and enjoy the Word of God. Let God’s Word cleanse and change us. Have a great day!


Today’s Bible text: “… Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26 to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, 27 and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.” (Eph.5:25-27)

Pastor Barnabas Chong
Email us at twc@cairnhillchurch.com

Today’s recommended video: The Bible in 50 words … Click here for YouTube link

Leave a comment