Finding Guidance In God’s Word – TWC Daily Devotional 20130421

TWC – The Word Connects: Connecting you to God and to one another …
Sunday 21 April 2013

the-guidance-of-gods-wordThe most important starting point in discovering and fulfilling God’s destiny for my life, to become who I was made to be, to have the greatest satisfaction in life, is to know God’s truth found in God’s Word – the Bible. The Bible has been described as God’s love letter to us. In it, He reveals His love for us and His guidance on how we should live our lives so that none of us get hurt. A student of mine once remarked, “B.I.B.L.E. is Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth” – that’s a nice way of putting it, and it’s true too. But many of us find the Bible either difficult to read or boring. We rather read the latest gossips and news in magazines, newspapers, blogs, journals, etc. We would read anything but the Bible. I once asked a friend who grew up in a Christian/Catholic environment, “Is the Bible the Word of God?” He said, “Yes!” I asked again, “Is the Bible then the most important book in the world?” He answered, “Yes, definitely!” I asked the third question, “Have you ever read any book from cover to cover?” He answered, “Yes, of course.” I think he knew by now where I was going with the questions, and I asked him the fourth question, “Since the Bible is the most important book in the world, have you read it from cover to cover?” He said quietly and honestly, “No, I haven’t.” Then I asked him a final question gently and solemnly, “My friend, would you like to read the Bible from cover to cover?” He looked at me and said, “Yes, I would like to, I will.” Then, I started a weekly Bible study group with this and two other friends. That first friend also cultivated the habit of reading the Bible everyday, and that brought so much joy and comfort to my heart. If you want to know how, in what manner, God has expressed His love for you, then you must read the Bible, the whole book. If you want guidance for your daily living, read the Bible. If you want to hear the Holy Spirit speak to you and give you a specific revelation, a specific guidance each day, start by reading the Bible. When we read the Bible, the Holy Spirit takes the Word and applies it into specific situations in our lives. That’s how He guides us, and if we follow His guidance, we fulfill His will. When we fulfill His will, we find joy. As you begin your walk with God today, get into the Word, don’t just read this daily devotional, you have to read the Word daily. At the least, you should meditate on Today’s Bible text highlighted below and let that be your foundation for the day. You will see changes in the way you think and act as you make God’s Word a daily feature in your life. Maybe even without realizing it, you would begin to fulfill God’s destiny for your life. Enjoy that!


Today’s Bible text: “18 Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law. 19 I am a stranger on earth; do not hide your commands from me. 20 My soul is consumed with longing for your laws at all times.” (Ps.119:18-20)

Pastor Barnabas Chong
Email us at twc@cairnhillchurch.com

Today’s recommended video: Thy Word is a lamp unto my feet … Click here for YouTube link

Leave a comment